School of Liberal Arts Faculty Assembly MINUTES 18 April 2008

Present: Anton, Aponte, Barrows, Bennett-Edelman, Bersier, Carlin, Chakrabarti, Cochrane, M.A. Coleman, Curtis, K. Davis, DiCamilla, Dube, Eller, Ford, L. Haas, Harrington, Hyatt, McCormick, L. Miller, Peterson, Polites, Robertson, Scarpino, K. Sheeler, S. Shepherd, Thuesen, Tilley, Towfighi, Turner, Vargus, Vermette, Ward, Weeden, White, White-Mills, White-Stanley, Williams, Wininger, Wittberg (recording), Wokeck, Zimmerman. Guest: Sara Harrell, English.

1. CALL TO ORDER

President Sutton called the Faculty Assembly to order at 1:10 p.m.

2. ACCEPTANCE OF THE MINUTES AND AGENDA

The minutes were unanimously accepted.

3. **PRESIDENT'S REMARKS** (Robert Sutton)

President Sutton observed that this would be his last chance as president to give these remarks and used the opportunity to reflect on the accomplishments of his term and to express his appreciation to those who have assisted him and the faculty of Liberal Arts more generally over the last two years, especially Dean White, Associate Deans Ward, Ford, and Wokeck, the Agenda Committee members, and the assorted committee chairs. He reminded the committee chairs to submit annual reports of their committees' activities, and to send letters of appreciation to the members of each committee. He urged the faculty to participate: to stand for election to SLA and IFC positions, to attend meetings. The search for a new dean continues. The two internal candidates are scheduled to be interviewed on May 5 and 6. We should know after that time.

4. **DEAN'S REMARKS** (Robert White)

The School of Music will not become part of SLA; it is joining the School of Engineering and Technology instead. From May 9 until July 5, the air handlers in the bottom half of the building will be replaced, so the first 2 floors may be "climatically challenged." There is new furniture in the lobbies of CA 2 and CA 3. This is the beginning of a process which will ultimately lead to the refurbishment of the lobbies on all floors. Dean White said thank you to all who contributed to this process.

Dean White noted that salaries rose for all faculty an average of 4.5%, not counting promoted faculty. This is better than most schools.

Dean White then gave an overview of his years as Associate Dean and as Dean, noting his appreciation of the colleagues he had worked with during that time. At the end, the faculty gave him a standing ovation.

1

5. REMEMBRANCES:

A remembrance of Fran Rhome was read. Dean White noted that May 5 would be Remembrance Day in honor of all departed faculty.

6. CELEBRATIONS

> Trustees Teaching Awards

Associate Dean Wokeck announced the recipients of the 2008 Trustees Teaching Awards:

Enrica Ardemagni, World Languages and Cultures

Linda Haas, Sociology

Jason Kelly, History

Scott Pegg, Political Science

Kristine Horn Sheeler, Communication Studies

Martin Spechler, Economics

Archana Dube, Economics

Victoria Rogers, Philosophy

Anne Williams, English

> Promotions and Tenure Announcements

Associate Dean Marianne Wokeck announced that the names of faculty who were promoted or who received tenure could not be released prior to their reception of the official promotion letter.

> Outstanding Faculty Award

Dean White announced the recipients of the 2008 Outstanding Faculty Awards:

Anne Williams

Tere Molinder-Hogue

Mary Sauer

Distinguished Lecturer Award

Dean White announced the recipients of the 2008 Distinguished Lecturer Awards:

Ann Williams, English

Mary Sauer, English

Tere Molinder-Hogue, English

Sara Harrell, English

Retirements

Retirement Tributes were then read for the following faculty:

Michael Burke – by John Tilley

William Jackson – by Peter Thuesen

Giles Hoyt – by Gabrielle Bersier

Sharon Hamilton – by Susanmarie Harrington

Barbara Cambridge – by Susanmarie Harrington

7. NOMINATION RESULTS

Agenda Council:

Gina Sanchez Gibau

Kate B. Duffy

Marta Anton

Enhancement Review Committee

Jeannette Dickerson-Putman

Peter J. Thuesen

Nominating Committee:

David M. Craig

Didier Bertrand

President:

Philip V. Scarpino

Promotion and Tenure Committee, Senior Lecturer

David J. Sabol

Promotion and Tenure Committee, Tenured Faculty

Bessie House-Soremekun

Larry John Zimmerman

Robert F. Sutton

William F. Touponce

8. REPORTS FROM SLA COMMITTEES

a. Faculty Affairs Committee

The Committee made two motions for adoption by the Faculty Assembly:

That the faculty evaluation scale be simplified from the current five cardinal categories to three ordinal categories: Outstanding, Meets Departmental Expectations, and Unsatisfactory.

That the Faculty Assembly recommend to the Chairs that the annual pay increment envelope be separated in two parts of fixed size: one divided equally among faculty who meet expectations, and one allocated at the Chair's discretion to reward outstanding performance; and to the Dean that when salary sanctions are imposed on someone for unsatisfactory performance, the freed money be lost to that department.

After some discussion, however, it was noted that there was no quorum for voting on the motions, so they were <u>tabled until the fall</u>.

b. Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

Two minors, one in Arabic and Islamic Studies and one in European Studies, were proposed. Both were <u>unanimously approved.</u>

K. Sheeler reported that the Committee also recommended a change in the SLA History requirements. Presently, students must take H114, Modern Western Civilization. This requirement would be expanded to allow students to take H109, The World Since 1800. The change was <u>unanimously approved</u>.

c. Library Committee

The committee proposed that the SLA Faculty Assembly adopt a Resolution Calling for the Restoration of IUPUI's Copyright Management Center (attached). This resolution was unanimously accepted.

d. The By-Law revisions to clarify the election procedures (attached) were unanimously approved

9. REPORTS FROM IFC AND UFC

R. Rebein reported on the IUPUI Faculty Council meeting. The family leave policy is still under discussion. There will be a university-wide review of Promotion and Tenure procedures to establish a baseline. Two meetings ago, the representation of non-tenured faculty on the IFC was discussed, but the issue hasn't come up again. Most of the discussion this time centered on the Affirmative Action Office on the IUPUI campus. An examination of the office's procedures was called for after negative publicity.

There was no UFC report.

10. OLD BUSINESS

The present condition of the School of Science. Bart Ng is the new Acting Dean. They are on the verge of getting out of their budgetary deficit.

11. NEW BUSINESS

Susanmarie Harrington raised the concern that we have approved a minor in Arabic and Islamic Studies without sufficient full-time faculty to support it. Accordingly, she proposed the following motion:

That the Faculty Assembly convey to the new Dean its support for the hiring of full-time faculty whose working conditions, training, and scholarship will support the growth of the Arabic Language concentration in the minor just approved.

The motion was <u>passed unanimously.</u>

Former President Sutton handed the gavel to incoming President Scarpino, who adjourned the meeting at 3:10.

—submitted by P. Wittberg