TO: Gail Whitchurch

Recording Secretary SLA Faculty Assembly

FROM: Kevin Cramer

Chair

SLA Graduate Curriculum Committee

DATE: 4/19/12

RE: Graduate Curriculum Committee Final Report AY 2011-2012

cc: Candice L. Smith

Dean's Office

IUPUI School of Liberal Arts

The membership of the Graduate Curriculum Committee for academic year 2011-2012 consisted of Kevin Cramer (Chair), Audrey Gertz, John Kaufman-McKivigan, Jane Schultz, and Kristina Sheeler. Ex officio members: Margaret Ferguson, Marianne Wokeck, Philip Goff, Modupe Labode.

In four meetings from September 2011 to April 2012, the Graduate Curriculum Committee approved twenty course proposals, the majority of which were components of the recently established or approved doctoral or masters programs in Economics, Health Communication, Philanthropic Studies, and English.

As of the GCC's final meeting of the year on April 11, 2012, no unrevised or unapproved courses remained on the committee's agenda.

The GCC reviewed and approved the Communication Studies Department's proposal for a doctoral program in Health Communication.

The GCC also reviewed and approved graduate certificate programs in Philanthropic Studies and Teaching Literature (English Department).