## Minutes

## Faculty Assembly, School of Liberal Arts

## 2:00-4:00 p.m., Friday September 26, 2014 LE 105

Faculty Members Present: Anton, M.; Aponte, R.; Ardemagni, E.; Banerjee, A.; Bao, W.N.;
Barrows, R.; Bein, F.; Bingham, D.; Bivin, D.; Blomquist, W.; Brann, M.; Buchenot, A.; Bute, J.;
Carstensen, T.; Cohen, M.; Coleman, M; De Tienne, A.; Dicamilla, F.; Dwyer, O.; Eller, J.; Foote,
C.; Fox, S.; Freeman, J.; Friesen, A.; Gibau, G.; Goff, Ph.; Goldfarb, N.; Gondola, D.; Grossmann,
Guiliano, J.; C.; Harrell, S.; Head, K.; Hoegberg, D.; Jain, A.; Jogi, S.; Kahn, S.; Karnick, K.; Kryder-Reid, E.; Latham, K.; Laucella, P.; Layden, S.; Lulla, V.; Lyons, T.; Marvin, T.; Miller, A.; Miller, L.;
Loran, M.; Morgan, A.; Pegg, S.; Pfeifer, D.; Rebein, R.; Reyes, Ch.; Robertson, N.; Roesch, K.;
Rossing, J.; Russell, S.; Saak, E.; Safder, E.; Sandwina, R.; Scarpino, P.; Schall, C.; Schneider, W.;
Sheeler, I.; Sheeler, K.; Shin, Y.; Sisson, A.; Strong, D.; Tezanos-Pinto, R.; Thilol, E.; Theusen, P.;
Tilley, J.; Vargas-Vila, J.; Vincent, J.; Weeden, S.; White, R.; White-Mills, K.; Wilson, J.; Wininger,
M.; Wittberg, P.; Wokeck, M.; Wood, E.

Guests: Bronwenk, M.; Carr, C.; Gusich, J.; Hanson, R.; Hetrick, B.; Illg, M.; Jones-Richardson, A.; Lamb, C.; Kidwell, L.; O'Bryan, A.; Saltman, P.; Smith, C.; Tennekoon, V.; Weireter, L.

1. Meeting was gaveled to order at 2:00 p.m. by President David Bivin

**2**. The Minutes of the FA meeting of April 18, 2014 were approved by acclamation (with the stated corrections).

3. President's remarks—David Bivin

- President Bivin expressed gratitude to Andre de Tienne who has agreed to serve on the IUPUI campus Promotion and Tenure Committee;
- Benjamine Van Wyke is taking Danna Kostroun's place on Faculty Council while Kostroun is on sabbatical;
- President Bivin announced the need for help with The Staff Luncheon in November; those who can help please contact the chairs, Kim Lovejoy and Marda Rose
- President Bivin suggested the possibility of future FA meetings being held in the Campus Center; no interest in doing so was expressed;
- President Bivin announced the need to appoint a Parliamentarian for the FA and called for volunteers
- 4. David Heard, Director of Career Development Services SLA
  - David Heard reported on the developments since his previous address to the FA a year ago. He stressed his willingness to talk to students and asked for invitations to speak to classes, stressing the need to reach out to students. The power point slides of his presentation are posted.

- 5. Introduction of new faculty and staff members
  - > New faculty and staff were introduced (see power point posted)
- 6. Dean's remarks: State of the School and Q&A

See Dean Blomquist's power point as posted.

- 7. Old business
  - > President Bivin called for any Old Business. No Old Business came to the floor.
- 8. New business
  - Wan-Ning Bao, Chair of the Faculty Affairs Committee, presented the Faculty Work Document (as posted), explaining that departments can work on the document as a whole and submit feedback to the committee, or individuals can send feedback directly to the committee as well. There will be a Faculty Affairs Committee meeting on October 22 and again on November 10 at which the document and the feedback thereon will be discussed. The revised document will be brought to the FA meeting of November 22 for a vote for adoption.
  - Eric Saak, the Academic Advisor of the SLA Honors Program, gave a report on the progress of the program since its adoption at the April 2014 FA meeting. The program is up and running with its first cohort of students. Applications for admission to the Program beginning in the 2015/2016 AY will be due in late January/early February.
  - Dean Blomquist will be stepping down as Dean to resume service as Professor of Political Science in the Faculty. The assembly recognized his service with a heartfelt round of applause.
- 9. Motion to adjourn; seconded; passed unanimously

10. Adjournment 3:48 p.m.

Minutes Faithfully Submitted October 7, 2014

Eric Leland Saak Associate Professor of History Secretary of the SLA Faculty Assembly 2013-2015