From the Desk of the Chancellor

Lilly scholars named

SHARE

June 3, 2014

by Charles R. Bantz

My thanks to the Lilly Endowment as it marks the 17th year of the Community Scholarship Program. Recent high school graduates selected throughout the state will receive full tuition (with all required fees) as well as \$900 per year for books and supplies.

This fall, I look forward to welcoming six IUPUI-bound Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program recipients. Their choice is consistent with overall rising levels of scholastic achievement --based on GPAs, test scores and class ranking -- for incoming IUPUI freshmen.

In the May 29th Independent Colleges Indiana announcement, the prospective IUPUI student's names, intended majors, and hometowns are as follows:

- Johnna Belkiewitz, Biology, LaPorte.
- Robin Furnish, Biomedical Engineering, Vevay.
- Emily Gaffney, Public Administration, Elwood.
- Solomon Hunter, Motorsports Engineering, Williamsport.
- Joowon Lee, Biology, Kokomo.
- Kevin Lema. Biology, Whiting.

At IUPUI, they will find academic programs that take advantage of both our IU/Purdue connections and our urban location. Our faculty lead the world in research from the life sciences to the liberal arts and have developed award-winning programs that help students succeed in achieving their academic goals, including nationally recognized service learning, undergraduate research, and effective first-year experience programs for students.

I congratulate these young people and join in celebration of their achievement! I am confident that their experience on and off campus will soundly affirm the choice of these outstanding Lilly scholars!

Read more From the Desk of the Chancellor stories »