2012 Committee ~ Meeting Summary ~ October 16, 2012

Present: S. Baker, T. Banta, K. Black, M. Fisher, D. Galli, S. Kahn, J. Kowolik, S. Queener, S. Scott, M. Souza (by phone), T. Tarr, R. Ward, D. Winikates (by phone)

1. T. Banta reported that she has been in touch with our visiting team chair, Professor Craig Schnell, from North Dakota State University. The rough outline of a schedule for the team visit was distributed. A meeting with 2012 Committee members is scheduled for 10:00–11:00 a.m. on Monday, November 5, the first day of the team visit. Criterion Teams will meet with the reviewers from 1:45–2:45 p.m. on that day.

Visiting team members will stay at University Place and their Resource Room will be in the Board Room of the Conference Center. Most of their meetings will take place in the Campus Center.

- 2. Questions that the visiting team members will ask us will be sent to everyone as soon as we receive this information from Dr. Schnell.
- 3. M. Fisher distributed Executive Summaries and print copies of the self study.
- 4. Members continued the discussion begun at the August meeting about topics/issues that might be of interest to visiting team members. We identified resource people in connection with each, as follows:
 - Distance education Nasser Paydar, Judy Halstead
 - RCM Dawn Rhodes, Nasser Paydar
 - Centralization of services Amy Warner, Becky Porter
 - Associate faculty issues Terri Tarr, Kate Thedwall
 - Affordability Becky Porter, Beth Barnett, Marvin Smith
 - Student Retention Kathy Johnson, University College, Council on Retention and Graduation
 - Changes to the general education curriculum Kathy Johnson
 - ICHE performance funding Nasser Paydar, Margie Ferguson
 - Core schools Academic Deans
 - Diversity Ken Durgans
 - Program review Karen Black
 - Relationships with IUB and PWL Academic Deans
 - Financial literacy Becky Porter
 - STEM Andy Gavrin, Kathy Marrs, Stephen Hundley
 - Conduct and the Behavioral Consultation Team Jason Spratt, Tralicia Lewis
 - Compliance issues Financial Aid, Athletics, Police, Student Housing, Research Compliance—John Talbott, and Shelley Bazilla
 - RISE Kathy Johnson, Mary Fisher
 - Academic Standards Committee Jennifer Nicole Choi (jenchoi@iupui.edu)