Agenda Faculty Assembly, School of Liberal Arts LE 101, 1:00 PM, September 29, 2006

- 1. Call to Order Robert Sutton
- 2. Guest: Executive Vice Chancellor and Dean of Faculties Uday Sukhatme
- 3. Approval of Minutes
- 4. Dean's Remarks Dean White
 - Merger of the School of Journalism and Introduction of Jim Brown
 - State of the School
 - Labor Studies
 - Signature Center Proposal Routing
- 5. President's Remarks Robert Sutton 10 min.
- 6. Reports from the IUPUI Faculty Council Representatives 5 min.
- 7. Report from the IU Faculty Council Representatives 5 min.
- 8. Old Business
 - a. Results of the summer elections Pat Wittberg 5 min.
 - Agenda Council Representatives: Scott Weeden and Brian Vargus
 - By-Law Proposals passed
 - b. Curriculum Committee Procedures Nancy Robertson 5 min.
- 9. New Business
 - a. Discussion of the School of Journalism merger 10 min.
 - b. General Education Update Sharon Hamilton, Marianne Wokeck, and Rick Ward 8 min.
 - c. Defending Dissent and Critical Thinking Marc Bilodeau 10 min.
- 10. Introduction of new faculty Department Chairs 4-8 min. per department
- 11. Adjournment
- 12. Reception: New Faculty and the Celebration of Research