## green sheet

volume three, number forty-eight

november 14, 1973

## HONORS & ACCOLADES DEPT.

Professor James P. White of the Indianapolis Law School has been appointed consultant on legal education to the American Bar Association and will supervise accreditation of law schools by the ABA. White will continue to hold his faculty appointment and continue all his IUPUI activities and responsibilities. His ABA duties also will include periodic review of standards of those law schools already accredited. He also will consult with the ABA board of governors and the section on legal education and admissions to the bar on matters involving legal education. Professor White is chairman of the law school administration section of the Association of American Law Schools and director of its promotion and tenure study. He is chairman of the I.U. constitution committee, the IUPUI goals and objectives committee and the Indianapolis Bar Association law school liaison committee. He is director of external affairs and urban legal studies for the Indianapolis Law School.

<u>Mary A. Lacy</u>, director and assistant professor in the Medical Records Program, was installed as president of the American Medical Record Association during the organization's recent 45th annual meeting in Boston. The association is a non-profit, national organization of more than 12,000 professional medical record practitioners who work closely with physicians, hospital administrators, medical researchers and public health officials to improve health care delivery and establish high standards.

<u>Donald R. Dignam</u>, assistant hospital director/finance, has been named as one of five members to the national Task Force Committee on Hospital Accounting Principles and Practices of the 10,000-member Hospital Financial Management Association.

<u>Dr. Henry M. Swenson</u>, professor of periodontics in the School of Dentistry, is the new president of the American Academy of Periodontology. He was installed during the group's annual meeting recently in San Antonio, Texas. A former examiner for the American Board of Periodontology, Dr. Swenson also has served as secretary-treasurer of the board and of the 3,000-member academy. At the same meeting, <u>Dr.</u> <u>Timothy J. O'Leary</u>, chairman of periodontics, was elected vice-president of the academy and re-elected to the board of examiners.

Elton T. Ridley, associate professor of hospital administration and director of Medical Center Planning, has been elected vice-president of Indiana Health Careers, Inc.

<u>Arthur Mirsky</u>, chairman and associate professor of geology, has accepted an invitation to become a member of the Solid Waste Task Force of the Indiana Senate Committee on the Environment and Ecology. One objective of the task force is to consider alternatives to the problem of solid waste disposal in terms that could lead to legislative action by the Indiana General Assembly.

(continued)

During the annual Society of Nuclear Medicine meeting at Miami, <u>David Miller</u>, the assistant chief technologist in nuclear medicine, was awarded the top prize for the best scientific paper presented by a technologist. The title of the paper was "An Improved System for Administration of Xenon-133 in Pulmonary Ventilation Scintiphotography." Associated with this award was a \$500 cash prize. <u>Dr. Hee-Myung Park</u> received a bronze award for his display called "Radionuclide Angiocardiography: A Diagnostic Aid in the Detection of Superior Vena Cava Anomalies and Left to Right Cardiac Shunts." <u>Jerry Porter</u>, chief technologist in the nuclear medicine division, received a bronze award for his display, "The Anger Camera Used as a Body Counter for Thyroid Evaluation."

The 1973 Lord-Chaim Award of the First District Dental Society of New York has been awarded to <u>Dr. Myron J. Kasle</u>, associate professor and chairman of dental radiology in the School of Dentistry. The annual award is presented to the writer of a meritorious essay dealing with research in basic or clinical services.

## NEWS 'N' NOTES FROM HERE 'N' THERE

\* \* \*

Appointment -- Miss Susan E. Lampert, formerly assistant to the dean and recorder at the Herron School of Art, has been appointed assistant registrar of IUPUI.

<u>Sign Up</u> -- Volunteers are needed to participate in a study of various methods of cleaning teeth. Participants will receive a free prophylaxis (cleaning) and payment for their co-operation. If you are interested, please call 264-4458 or 264-4459 for more details.

<u>Omission</u> -- The Department of Sociology was erroneously deleted from the 1973-1974 Campus Telephone Book. Here's the listing:

Sociology, Department of

8981	Information		CA 502K
7403	Chairman	Dr. Edward E. Harris	CA 503E
3915		Dr. Douglas T. Gurak	CA 502P
8546		Dr. James Hawkins	CT 251
4454		John V. Hoerner	CA 402
4454		Jon H. Huer	CA 402
7384		Dr. Dean C. Jones	CA 504E
7998		Betty Levine	CA 503D
3998		Dr. N. P. Petropoulos	CA 502M
7226		Dr. Colin J. Williams	CA 503C

Also, Fortune-Fry Research Laboratory (Page 54) should be listed under Indianapolis Center for Advanced Research. Indianapolis Law School directly follows the listing for Indianapolis Center for Advanced Research and precedes Information Services.

JEANNETTE MATTHEW LIBRARIAN, SCHOOL OF LIBERAL ARTS 20 BLAKE STREET OF LIBERAL ARTS