GREETINGS FROM IUPUI April 2015

Spirit of Philanthropy event celebrates those who give

Rose Mays said it simply, summing the philosophy she shared with her late husband, entrepreneur and philanthropist William G. "Bill" Mays. As their careers developed – individuals reached out, assisted and encouraged them along the way. So when they achieved success, they wanted to reciprocate and to help others.

At the annual IUPUI Spirit of Philanthropy luncheon, Indiana University President Michael A. McRobbie presented the President's Medal for Excellence to Rose M. Mays in honor of the numerous contributions she and her late husband have made to the university.

The theme running through this year's Spirit of Philanthropy Luncheon reflected the wisdom of Sir Winston Churchill who admonished: "We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give." Our IUPUI colleague, Dr. Richard Gunderman articulated this theme as a central expression of philanthropy in his book, "We Make a Life by What We Give," which characterizes the common ties that bind individuals willing to share their time and their treasure with those in need.



Rose Mays (and posthumously husband William G. "Bill" Mays) were presented the President's Medal for Excellence by IU President Michael A. McRobbie.

That commitment was captured by the Mayses' who touched numerous schools and campuses with their involvement, passion, and generosity. Their interests grew out of their studies (Bill earned his bachelor's degree in chemistry in 1970 and a master's in business administration in 1973 and Rose obtained her master's degree and Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Certificate in 1974), but also reflected their

willingness to serve as members of the IU Foundation Board, search committees, and as advisors. Sandra Petronio, my wife, and I were inspired by their friendship, activism, loyalty, and commitment from the time I became chancellor in 2003.

Each year every school and several other units nominate for recognition a person or organization who supported their unit with their time, talent, or treasure. The roll call of those nominees provides an opportunity for the attendees to celebrate the impressive variety of individuals and organizations that make our campus stronger.

The widespread recognition that contributions of time, talent and resources really make a difference is part of the magic of Indianapolis, a community that still believes in the notion of "collective impact" – that working together improves the economic vitality and quality of life in our city, region, state and beyond. It's great to know that here the "village" concept still thrives.

This year's Spirit of Philanthropy was special for Sandra and me as we were recipients of a special campus-wide award. Trustee Jim Morris's remarks in announcing the award were amazing. Sandra's acceptance remarks splendidly captured our appreciation for the astonishing support IUPUI receives from our community. Thank you.



Chancellor Charles R. Bantz and wife Sandra Petronio received campuswide recognition for philanthropy and service.

We salute with heartfelt appreciation all of the 2015 recipients of IUPUI Spirit of

Philanthropy Awards. The following are honorees and the respective unit that bestowed their award:

The Abramovich Family

Purdue School of Science at IUPUI

Ali Jafari

Purdue School of Engineering and Technology at IUPUI

Barbara D. Jackson

IU School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI

Essilor of America

IU School of Optometry

Hall, Render, Killian, Heath & Lyman, PC

IU Kelley School of Business Indianapolis

Indiana Hospital Association

IU Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health

Jim Kinney

IUPUI Office of Community Engagement

John Templeton Foundation

IU Lilly Family School of Philanthropy

Karen Gable

IU School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences

JPMorgan Chase

IU School of Informatics and Computing at IUPUI

Kathryn Merchant

IU School of Social Work at IUPUI

Linda L. Pence

IU Robert H. McKinney School of Law Indianapolis

Dr. Margaret "Peg" Watanabe

IU Herron School of Art and Design

Dr. Mark and Sheryl Kendra

IU School of Dentistry

National Collegiate Athletic Association

IUPUI Division of Student Affairs

Phillip Hardwick

IUPUI Department of Intercollegiate Athletics

Richard and Diane Billings

IU School of Nursing

Robert L. Bowen and Terry L. Bowen of the Bowen Foundation

IUPUI University College

Robert G. Bringle

IUPUI Center for Service and Learning

Schneck Medical Center

Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus

Terry Baumer and Pat Gabig

IU School of Public and Environmental Affairs at IUPUI

Tim and Tanya Harris

IUPUI Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Dr. Thomas E. McSoley

IU School of Medicine Indianapolis

Uzma Mirza and The Pen and Inkpot Foundation

IU School of Education at IUPUI

William Harrington

IU School of Physical Education and Tourism Management

Yvonne Perkins

IUPUI University Library