

Congratulations!

William Agbor-Baiyee, PhD, is the recipient of the 2004 Joseph T. Taylor Award for Excellence in Diversity. The award was presented Feb. 20 at the 15th Annual Joseph T. Taylor Symposium. The award recognizes exemplary IUPUI academic and support programs, events, policies and activities that have led to the following:

- Increased recruitment and/or retention of African American and Hispanic faculty, students and staff;
- Enhanced campus climate for diversity through social, cultural, or developmental programs or events; or
- Engagement of the IUPUI community in issues related to race, class or gender through innovative curriculum, research, programs or events.

William's diversity efforts with the MSMS program, the medical student prematriculation program and the Indiana Area Health Education Center (AHEC) program were responsible for his nomination.

Rose S. Fife has received an NIH - National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases New Research award: "Nitric Oxide Synthase and Cyclooxygenase in Arthritis".



Recent Publications

Skurat, AV; Dietrich, AD (2004) Phosphorylation of Ser640 in Muscle Glycogen Synthase by DYRK Family Protein Kinases. *J. Biol. Chem.* **279**, 2490-2498.

J.A. Yalowitz, S. Xiao, M. P. Biju, A. C. Antony, O. W. Cummings, M. K. Deeg and H. N. Jayaram. (2004) Characterization of human brain nicotinamide 5'-mononucleotide adenylyltransferase-2 and expression in human pancreas. *Biochem. J.* 377, 317-326.

A. C. Antony, Y-S. Tang, R. A. Khan, M. P. Biju, X. Xiao, Q-J. Li, X-L. Sun, **H. N. Jayaram** and S. P. Stabler. (2004) Translational up-regulation of folate receptors in folate deficiency is mediated by homocysteine effects on RNA-protein interactions. *J. Clin. Invest.* 113, 285-301.

(Continued on p. 2)

March Seminars

Biochemistry Seminars Mondays 4 pm, MS 326

3/1 Dr. Xin Zhang, Assistant Professor, Department of Medical and Molecular Genetics at IUSM; "Theme & Variations: Regulation of Pax6 during organ development"

3/8 Dr. Jie Chen, Assistant Professor, Department of Cell & Developmental Biology, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. "mTOR signaling in cell growth and differentiation"

3/15 Dr. Ted Cummins,
Department of Pharmacology
and Toxicology IUSM:
"Modulation of voltage-gated
sodium channels by calmodulin
and peptide toxins"

3/22 Dr. Geoffrey Sharp,

Professor of Pharmacology, Department of Molecular Medicine at Cornell University: "Understanding the biphasic insulin secretory response to glucose by pancreatic islets"

3/29 Dr. Tracy Anthony,
Assistant Scientist/Assistant
Professor, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
at Indiana University School of
Medicine, Evansville Center for
Medical Education: "Regulation of Protein Synthesis by
Amino Acid"

Biochemistry Student Seminars Wednesdays, 12 Noon, MS 311

3/3	Ross Cocklin
3/10	Courtney Tate
3/24	Dawn Brown
	Lan Huang
3/31	Sunyong Tang
	Heather Coppage

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Research Seminar Series Every other Thursday, 12:00 noon MS 311 A/B

3/4 Dr. Marc S. Cortese "Proteomics of natively unstructured proteins"

3/18 Jingyuan Liu

"Structure and function study of mouse thiamin pyrophosphokinase and its oligomeric and conformation transition switch"

Recent Publications, (Continued from p.1)

H. N. Jayaram, J. A. Yalowitz, K. Krupitza, T. Szekeres K. Krohn and K. Pankiewicz. (2003) Studies with benzamide riboside, a recent inhibitor of inosine 5'-monophosphate dehydrogenase. *ACS Symposium Series* 839, 231-246.

P. Franchetti, L. Capellaci, M. Grifantini, **H. N. Jayaram** and B. M. Goldstein. (2003) C-Nucleoside analogs of tiazofurin and selenazofurin as inosine 5'-monophosphate dehydrogenase

inhibitors. ACS Symposium Series 839, 212-230.

K. W. Pankiewicz, S. Patterson, H. N. Jayaram and B. M. Goldstein. (2003) Cofactor analogues as inhibitors of IMP dehydrogenase: Design and new synthetic approaches. *ACS Symposium Series* 839, 247-281.

M. R. Pillai, P. Chacko, L. A. Kesari, P. G. Jayaprakash, **H. N. Jayaram** and A. C. Antony. (2003) Expression of folate

receptors and heterogenous nuclear ribonucleoprotein-E1 in women with human papillomavirus mediated transformation of cervical tissue to cancer. *J. Clin. Path. 56*, 569-574.

Important Dates

4/1 Am. Cancer Society
Res. Indep. Invest.
Mentor, Career Dev.
Professorship
4/22 Classes end