IUPUI SENIOR ACADEMY

FOURTEENTH ANNUAL MEETING

June 5, 2008 4:00 - 5:00 P.M.

RECEPTION FOLLOWING 5:00 - 6:00 P.M.

IUPUI CAMPUS CENTER

WELCOME:

President Jim East welcomed Senior Academy Members and Guests to the Fourteenth Annual Meeting of the Senior Academy and the first one to be held in the long -awaited Campus Center. Jim encouraged all present to take time to tour the Center. The Campus Center adds a new dimension to life on the campus at IUPUI and makes it more meaningful. He announced the Senior Academy conducted a fund raising campaign and raised over \$25,000.00 to name a Senior Academy Room, #264 in the Campus Center. He invited those present to see the room.

APPRECIATION to HOSTS CHANCELLOR BANTZ AND DEAN SUKHATME:

Chancellor Charles Bantz and Dean of Faculties Uday Sukhatme were warmly thanked for extending hospitality to the Senior Academy. Dr. Sukhatme's office lends enormous support and resources to the Senior Academy.

Dr. Sukhatme thanked Senior Academy Members for contributing 39 years to what is now Indiana's premier urban university. IUPUI WHERE IMPACT IS MADE ACADEMIC PLAN: A ROADMAP FOR SUCCESS 2008 was available at each seat. Dr. Sukhatme described the Goals and Initiatives built in Research, Civic Engagement, Teaching and Learning, and Resource Base.. IUPUI is seeking international students and students at risk. A Honors College is being considered.. A strong marketing campaign is underway on billboards throughout the city to effectively connect IUPUI to the community. Dr. Sukhatme challenged Senior Academy Members to be ambassadors for the University; to tell the world what is going on at IUPUI. The Last Lecture will be a wonderful example of this, he said.

RECOGNITION of BOARD MEMBERS:

President Jim East requested all Board Members stand and be acknowledged.

ELECTION and INTRODUCTION of NEW BOARD MEMBERS:

Jim announced 80 members returned ballots electing four new Board Members replacing four who are completing the allowed two two-year terms of membership on the Board . The new Board Members were introduced. They include: Giles Hoyt, Liberal Arts; Shirley Newhouse, Medicine; Richard Patterson, Math; and Leon Rand, Administration.

RECOGNITION of OUTGOING BOARD MEMBERS

Bernice Hopp, Jordan Leibman, Don Schultheis and Dottie Swinney were applauded for their unique and significant contributions to the IUPUI Senior Academy. Gifts were awarded. Don received his gift two years ago as outgoing President. This year he awarded the gift to Jim East as outgoing President who remains as a Board member.

INTRODUCTION of NEW OFFICERS of the SENIOR ACADEMY BOARD:

PRESIDENT: Bill Voss; Vice President, Harriet Wilkins; Secretary, Mary Grove, and Treasurer, Shirley Newhouse. Congratulations!

TREASURER'S REPORT: see Minutes of Board Meeting which preceded the Annual Meeting.

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Committee Chairmen and Chairwomen submitted their annual reports. Copies were attached to the May 2008 Minutes. The following members summarized their reports for the membership. Committee members were noted.

Communications, Chair Walt Linne. Walt could not be present. Noel Duerdin reported for Walt.

Membership. Chair Harriet Wilkins reported.

Program. Chair Jim East. The Chair of the Program Committee was vacant. President Jim East retiring as President graciously assumed it.

Scholarship. Chair Art Mirsky. Jim East reminded members that the Senior Academy Scholarship Awards began with Art. In tribute to Art's dedication to students and scholarships the name of the scholarship program has been renamed the IUPUI Senior Academy Arthur Mirsky Scholarship Program. Jim presented Art a beautiful walnut plaque. Art announced the scholarship winners.

SOCIAL. Chair Jean Gnat. Jean thanked Cay Palmer who chaired the program for 10 years with deep devotion.

Program. Chair Jim East. Jim has been very instrumental in bringing The Last Lecture Program to IUPUI. In 2009, it will be linked to the Chancellor's Honor Program. Jim announced other notable events for 2007-2008 endowed scholarships, The Last Lecture Series, E-Archives, Shared Information Program, membership in the Associates of Retirements Organizations Program, in Higher Education, dedication of the Senior Academy's Room in the new Campus Center, new brochure, \$2,300.00 raised in IUPUI's annual Campus Campaign, and \$29,000.00 for IUPUI's United Way solicitation for 2008 which made the Senior Academy the highest giving unit per capita.

PRESENTATION of 2008 IUPUI SENIOR ACADEMY GERALD L. BEPKO MEDALLION

Mark Grove served as Chair of the Gerald L. Bepko Medallion Committee. Members included: Carlyn Johnson, Milton Miller, Amy Warner and Henry Wellman. Amy served as liaison, Chancellor's Office.

Today the Gerald I. Bepko Medallion was presented to Dean and Vice Chancellor Emeritus William Plater by Gerald Bebko.

Gerald Bepko traced how he and Bill Plater met early on and rose in their positions at IUPUI. He attributed Bill Plater to making IUPUI happen. Historically two committees were formed to seek a replacement for Chancellor Glenn Irwin. Bepko and Plater evolved from these committees and talked each other into assuming the positions which They would share and last 17 years.

Education is not complete unless the student accepts responsibility and uses it. It is difficult to teach students to accept community responsibility. It is challenging to strengthen IU ties to the Community, but Bill Plater continues to strengthen links between IUPUI and the larger community.

Bill Plater thanked the Senior Academy for their recognition. Twenty-five years ago when he first arrived, Jim East took him under his wing and acted as his mentor before it became a standard operating procedure for new persons.

ADJOURNMENT:

It was moved, seconded and unanimous to adjourn at 5:00 P.M. Respectfully submitted by: Bernice Hopp; Secretary