Minutes

Faculty Assembly, School of Liberal Arts

2:00-4:00 p.m., Friday January 30, 2015 LE 105

Faculty Members Present: Aponte, R.; Banerjee, A.; Bao, W.; Barrows, R.; Beckman, E.; Bein, F.; Bell, L.; Bingham, D.; Bivin, D.; Bjork, U.; Blomquist, W.; Bjork, U.; Brann, M.; Buchenot, A.; Cohen, M.; Coleman, M.; Davis, T.; De Wall, C.; DeWester, J.; Dicamilla, F.; Eller, J.; Ene, S.; Engels, E.; Fox, S.; Friesen, A.; Gibau, G.; Goering, E.; Goff, P.; Goldfarb, N.; Gondola, D.; Grossmann, C.; Guiliano, J.; Haberski, R.; Harrell, S.; Hoffmann-Longtin, K.; Hyatt, S.; Jettpace, L.; Kahn, S.; Karnick, K.; Kissel, F.; Kostroun, D.; Kryder-Reid, E.; Kuriyama, K.; Lamb, C.; Latham, K.; Laucella, P.; Lauten, K.; Layden, S.; Little, M.; Lovejoy, K.; Lulla, V.; Lyons, T.; Marvin, T.; McDonald, B.; Miller, L.; Molinder-Hogue, T.; Moran, M.; Morgan, A.; Mullins, P.; Pike, L.; Rebein, R.; Robertson, N.; Roesch, K.; Rossing, J.; Russell, S.; Saak, E.; Sandwina, R.; Schall, C.; Schneider, W.; Schultz, J.; Sheeler, K.; Shin, Y.; Snodgrass, M.; Steensland, B.; Strong, D.; Stump, S.; Tezanos-Pinto, R.; Thill, E.; .; Theusen, P.; Tucker Edmonds, J.; Upton, T.; Van Wyke, B.; Vargas-Vila, J.; Vincent, J.; Vogt, W.; Walker, K.; Weeden, S.; Wheeler, R.; White, R.; Wittberg, P.; Wokeck, M.; Zulaica Hernandz, I.

Guests: Collins, N.; Collins, S.; Gallagher, T.; Hamilton, E.; Heavrin, K.; Illg, M.; Jones, A.; Kelley, S.; Smith, C.; Walters, S.

- 1. The Meeting was called to order at 2:00 p.m. by President David Bivin.
- **2**. Approval of the minutes
 - As the FA meeting of November 21, 2014 did not have a quorum, the minutes from the FA meeting of September 26, 2014 were approved unanimously by acclamation.
 - ➤ The FA meeting of November 21st was designated as a meeting of the Committee as a whole and the minutes of that meeting were approved unanimously by acclamation.
- 3. President's remarks—David Bivin
 - ➤ President Bivin noted that it is the time of year to assemble committees for next year; the nominating committee meeting will be working on finding new candidates to fill positions, with the intent to have a slate of candidates for the March 6, 2015 FA meeting. Interested parties should contact Amanda Friesen.
 - ➤ President Bivin expressed the desire for the FA to consider formulating and adopting a "freedom of expression" analogous to the document from the University of Chicago on freedom of expression/speech.
- 4. Dean's remarks—William Blomquist

Dean Blomquist reported to faculty the upcoming encryption of school/university laptops for those devices that do not already have encryption software to reduce the likelihood of data breaches or other data security problems in the event of loss or theft of a laptop. This will be done in small groups and the process should not be lengthy. Faculty will be receiving email notification if their laptops will be part of this program and a timeline for the process. Dean Blomquist asked for cooperation with this needed safety process and alerted the faculty to the forthcoming email notifications.

➤ Dean Blomquist reminded faculty of the following:

- 1. Recommendations for student scholarships are due Feb. 1, 2015 at 11:59 p.m.; March 1 scholarship selections are due from departments;
- 2. Feb 9-13 will be the first ever Africana Studies Heritage Week at IUPUI; there will be a full program of speakers and events;
- 3. The Joseph Taylor Symposium will be held on Feb. 17, 2015; classes are welcome to attend, and are encouraged to do so, but instructors are requested to notify the Development and External Affairs office of the numbers of attendees to help with logistics and planning.

5. Old business:

- Faculty Affairs: Proposal to Create VP Position for Faculty Assembly: The Chair of the Faculty Affairs Committee, Wan-Ning Bao, presented the proposal to create a Vice-President position for the Faculty Assembly (document posted). The history of the proposal was presented and questions and comments were solicited, and addressed. The motion to accept the proposed changes to the By-Laws was made and seconded. The proposal passed unanimously by acclamation.
- ➤ Election of IUPUI Faculty Council Representative by Ballot: Ballots were distributed for the FA to vote on the new SLA IUPUI Faculty Council Representative. Lynn Pike had been nominated. There were no new nominations from the floor. The results were announced later in the meeting (Lynn Pike was elected).

6. New business:

- ➤ Shannon Kelly from the Office of Student Affairs presented the changes to the Academic Advising Program in the School of Liberal Arts. These changes will be implemented in the near future (see posted document);
- Phil Goff gave an update on the SLA Dean Search. The search committee will be meeting in early February to review the approximately 30 applications that have been received. A short list will be determined by early March, with on-campus interviews to be held in early April. Faculty is encouraged to be involved. The committee will submit two to three names, unranked, to the Chancellor, who will then make the appointment.
- ➤ Daniella Kostroun gave the report of the SLA Representatives to IUPUI Faculty Council. The IFC met on Jan. 6, 2015; the president announced the search for the new IUPUI Chancellor; the Carnegie Foundation honoured IUPUI, Butler, and Marian for their work in the community, making Indianapolis a better place to live; John Wheeler reported on resources and Dan Griffith and Kim Kirkland presented the new Civility Statement, which was endorsed by the IFC, and would like the document to be very visible throughout the campus; Staff Council reported on the available grants for professional development for staff, which thus far have been applied for

- overwhelmingly by medical school staff; all staff are encouraged to apply for grants in the range of \$400 for professional development.
- ➤ Eric Saak gave a brief update on the SLA Honors Program; approximately 145 invitations were sent to eligible students for the second cohort of students; programming will continue.

7. Announcements:

- Lynn Pike overwhelmingly voted in as new IFC rep.
- ➤ Dean Thom Upton announced the revised Salary policy and Wan Ning Bao discussed the changes to the SLA salary policy and asked for comments; Dean Blomquist gave further clarification whereby the SLA salary policy will need to be revised to conform to the campus/university salary policy; all comments and feedback should be sent to Wan Ning. It is planned to vote on this new policy in the March 6 FA meeting
- ➤ Dennis Bingham announced the French Film Series as had been communicated per email. This is an important event and will take place Feb. 6-March 6, 2015.

8. Motion to adjourn

The motion to adjourn was made and seconded; passed unanimously by acclamation

9. The meeting was adjourned at 3:25 p.m.

Minutes Faithfully Submitted February 19, 2015

Eric Leland Saak Associate Professor of History Secretary of the SLA Faculty Assembly 2013-2015