MINUTES

Faculty Assembly, School of Liberal Arts

3:00-4:30pm* Friday, September 23, 2011 LE105

*The one-time change in the time block was adopted by the Agenda Council to accommodate the 40th anniversary of Cavanaugh Hall, which began at 4:30pm on this date.

PRESENT. Faculty: Anton, Bao, Banerjee, Barrows, Bersier, Blomquist, Brant, Buchenot, Bute, Champion-Shaw, Chakrabarti, Chumbler, Coats, Cochrane, Craig, Dalinghaus, Davis, Eller, Ferguson, Foote, Freeman, Gertz, Gibau, Glidden, Goff, Goldfarb, Goldsmith, Gronfein, Grossmann, L. Haas, House-Soremekun, Hyatt, Jain, Kirts, Kryder-Reid, Labode, LeBeau, Leech, Lovejoy, Lulla, Lynelle, Lyons, Mahoney, Mashour, A. Miller, Molinder-Hogue, Nnaemeka, Nützel, Parrish-Sprowl, Pegg, Potts, Rebein, Rooney, Rossing, Schneider, Schuvaks-Katz, Shaker, I. Sheeler, K. Sheeler, Shepherd, Shrum, Tezanos-Pinto, Tilley, Upton, Van Wyke, Vargas-Vila, Vicente, Wang, Warren, Weeden, Whitchurch, J. S. Wilson, Wininger, Witkowski, Wittberg, E. Wood, Yonogi, L. Zimmerman, Zulaica. **Staff and other guests:** Abshire, Illg, Kidwell, Luesink, C. Smith, Thompson, D. Ward, D. Wheeler, Jones Richardson, [illegible-WLAC].

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 3:00pm by Subir Chakrabarti.
- 2. The minutes were approved as written.
- 3. President's remarks--Subir Chakrabarti
 - Welcomed everyone to the new academic year
 - Reminded everyone of the importance of faculty governance
 - Urged Faculty Assembly committees that have not yet met to do so as soon as possible
 - Went over the major areas of the Faculty Assembly area of the School of Liberal Arts website
 - Reminded faculty members to use the dedicated email address for the Secretary of the Faculty Assembly: slafasec@iupui.edu
- 4. Dean's remarks: Dean William Blomquist gave the annual State of the School address. See accompanying Powerpoint document.

- 5. Department chairs introduced new faculty and staff members, and Future Faculty Teaching Fellows. See accompanying Powerpoint document.
- 6. Old business: none
- 7. New business: none
- 8. Motion to adjourn
- 9. The meeting was adjourned at 4:35pm.

Minutes respectfully submitted September 23, 2011

gil grainne Irhiteburch

Gail Gráinne Whitchurch Associate Professor of Communication Studies Secretary of the SLA Faculty Assembly