COMMITTEE ON TEACHER EDUCATION

AT

INDIANA UNIVERSITY PURDUE UNIVERSITY INDIANAPOLIS

~ 2004-05 Annual Report ~

The Committee on Teacher Education (COTE) was initiated in September 2000 to provide a forum for discussing and resolving issues that affect the delivery of teacher education and development of K-16 education professionals at IUPUI. With representation from each of the following groups, COTE seeks to improve teacher education at all levels by increasing collaboration among faculty from the School of Education, the Schools of Liberal Arts and Science, Herron School of Art, the Department of Physical Education, University College, and colleagues from the public schools.

During the 2004-05 academic year, regularly scheduled meetings of COTE took place in November, January, and April. In March, a special event brought COTE members together with a broader group of central Indiana educators for an afternoon with Deborah Meier, a teacher, writer, and public school advocate from New York and Boston.

In November, Melissa Bingmann from the IUPUI Department of History provided an overview of Indiana's *Teaching American History Project*, which began in 2004. This project receives funding from the U.S. Department of Education and involves Brown County Schools, the Indiana Historical Society, the School of Education at IUPUI, and the Department of History in providing professional development in teaching American History for K-12 teachers.

Chris Leland and Caroline Shockley, a teacher at the Indianapolis Public Schools Center for Inquiry, gave a choral reading on teacher education as critical inquiry. Shockley read reflections from her journal written while she was a student at IUPUI and, with Leland, illustrated how her insights in college now are reflected in her teaching at the Center for Inquiry. COTE members also discussed at the November meeting changes in secondary and all-grade teacher education programs that School of Education faculty are considering.

At the January meeting, members saw a video tape depicting a small schools initiative in New York City. Julia Richman High School in mid-town Manhattan is featured in this presentation. Where a single high school operated a decade ago, now six high schools, each with a different mission, are housed. Education is personalized for each student and the entire community is involved in making the schools a success.

Also at the January meeting, Beth Berghoff introduced a discussion of IUPUI initiatives designed to attract students to teaching as a career. Cadet Teacher Corps at Lawrence Township High School and Early College at Washington Community Schools are two such efforts in which School of Education faculty participate. Gayle Williams, representing University College, described the ways in which career counseling and academic counseling are paired in her unit, with counselors trained to offer students both kinds of assistance. Sarah Baker, faculty member in Radiologic Sciences, described the Thematic Learning Community on Health Professions. The first year seminar that is part of this learning community helps students see that there are many health professions to consider in the event that they are not able to realize their aspiration of entering a nursing major or one of the other highly competitive allied health fields.

In March, COTE sponsored a reception and address by Deborah Meier at the Eiteljorg Museum. Ms. Meier talked about her successful experiences with small schools at Julia Richman High School in New York and now at Mission Hill School in Boston.

In April, COTE members discussed new state licensure requirements. In addition, COTE members reviewed Deborah Meier's presentation in the context of the small schools initiative under way in central Indiana schools. Barbara Gillenwater from Indianapolis Public Schools outlined plans for converting each IPS high school to multiple small academies in Fall 2005.

2004-05 COTE Membership

Carl Cowen Marta Anton World Languages & Cultures (Spanish) School of Science

School of Liberal Arts

IPS – Human Resources Trudy Banta (*Chair*)

IUPUI Administration

Beth Berghoff School of Education

Gabrielle Bersier

World Languages & Cultures (German)

School of Liberal Arts

Melissa Bingmann Department of History School of Liberal Arts

Cindy Borgmann Herron School of Art

Marcia Capuano

MSD Lawrence Township

Chris Collier

IPS – Center for Inquiry

Carole Craig

Stephen Fox

Department of English School of Liberal Arts

Andrew Gavrin

Department of Physics School of Science

Gerardo Gonzalez School of Education

Linda Houser

School of Education

Larry Hurt

Ben Davis High School

Elizabeth Jones

Department of Physical Education

School of PE and Tourism Management

Chris Leland

School of Education

Kathleen Marrs

Department of Biology School of Science

Ann Mennonno

IPS – Center for Inquiry

Khaula Murtadha School of Education

Phyllis Scott

IPS – Key Learning Community

Philip Seabrook University College

Joy Seybold

School of Education

Catherine Souch School of Liberal Arts

Katie Stanton

Department of Physical Education School of PE and Tourism Management

Jeff Swope

Department of Geology

School of Science

Jeffrey Watt

Department of Mathematical Sciences

School of Science

Gayle Williams

University College

Polly Wolfe

Herron School of Art