Agenda Faculty Assembly, IU School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI LE 105, **1:00 PM**, April 17, 2009

- 1. Call to Order—Philip Scarpino
- 2. Approval of Minutes
- 3. President's Remarks—Philip Scarpino
- 4. Dean's Remarks—William Blomquist
- 5. Upcoming retirements
 - a. Kenneth Davis, Professor of English and Communication Studies
 - b. David Ford, Associate Dean and Professor of Sociology
 - c. Nathan Houser, Professor of Philosophy and American Studies
 - d. Albert Lewis, Research Associate, Peirce Edition Project
 - e. Nancy Newton, Associate Professor of Spanish and Women's Studies
 - f. Judith Spector, Professor of English
 - g. Richard Turner, Professor of English and Philanthropic Studies
- 6. Reports from SLA committees
 - a. Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (Herbert Brant)
 - i. Undergraduate Certificate in African Studies
 - ii. BA Degree in Legal Studies
 - iii. Changes to the BA Curriculum in Spanish
 - b. Promotion and Tenure
 - c. Teaching and Advising—Trustees' Teaching Awards (Ian Sheeler)

Catherine Beck (English) Gail Bennett-Edelman (English) Catherine Dobris (Communication Studies) Aye Nu Duerksen (English) Kathryn Glidden (Anthropology) Johnny Goldfinger (Political Science) Sharon Henriksen (English) Susan Hyatt (Anthropology) Erik Lindseth (History) Jim Powell (English)

- d. Faculty Affairs—Outstanding Distinguished Faculty Awards (Susan Shepherd)
- e. Graduate Curriculum Committee—MA Concentration in International Research Ethics, Department of Philosophy (Carrie Foote)
- f. Student Affairs/Academic Affairs (Marianne Wokeck, Rick Ward)
 - i. IU School of Liberal Arts Senior Survey revision rational

- ii. Intent to Graduate Packet
- 7. Reports from IUPUI Faculty Council (IFC) and IU Faculty Council (UFC) Representatives
- 8. Adjourn