# IFC Faculty Affairs Committee (02/23/2007)

Excerpt from the Meeting Summary of the 20 February 2007 Meeting of the IUPUI Faculty Council ("IFC")

Constitution & Bylaws Chair Karlson then reported, as an informational item, that the IFC resolution passed on May 2nd 2006 to allow for the election of ten at-large representatives from the ranks of the non-tenure track faculty (NTTF) to the IFC is in conflict with the Indiana University Faculty Constitution, to which the IFC and its Constitution are subordinate. The IU Faculty Constitution states:

ARTICLE 1: THE FACULTY

Section 1.1: The Faculty

The President, professors, and instructors shall constitute the faculty of Indiana University.

Section 1.2: Voting Faculty Membership

A. All faculty members on tenure or accumulating credit toward tenure shall be voting members of the faculty.

Karlson's committee was charged with drafting the language necessary to implement the practice detailed in the adopted resolution. However, as the committee has deemed the resolution unconstitutional, it is now nullified.

He further noted that, while the IU Handbook allows the voting faculty of individual campuses to "extend voting privileges to others on matters of campus significance," there is no definition of campus significance.

Dean Khaula Murtadha asked if the IFC would now propose an amendment to the Indiana University Faculty Constitution by way of the University Faculty Council ("UFC"). Representatives Jacqueline Blackwell and Enid Zwirn echoed Dean Murtadha's sentiments. Representative Marion Wagner suggested that Constitutions are subject to interpretation. Representatives Andre De Tienne, Bonnie Blazer-Yost, and Nancy Eckerman suggested that non-tenure track faculty be granted voting privileges on the IFC on issues of campus significance, alone. Karlson believes that the lack of a codified definition of the term "campus significance" would lead to extensive discussion and debate on each issue, significantly complicating the operation of the IFC.

Karlson wished to go on record that he does not oppose the idea behind the original resolution, only the constitutionality of it. He also doubts the feasibility of administering a policy of limited enterprise (granting non-tenure-track faculty voting privileges based on "campus significance"). He also wonders if granting non-tenure-track faculty might be insulting.

The sense of the IFC meeting was that IFC President Bart Ng should broach the idea of an amendment to the IU Faculty Constitution with the UFC. Representative Jim Baldwin suggested that, in the interim, the IFC consider offering ten non-voting positions to non-tenure-track faculty, explaining, "a voice is often as important as a vote."

# **From IFC Faculty Affairs Committee**

#### PASSED BY IFC 5/2/06

Representation of Fulltime Non-Tenure-Track Faculty on IFC

## Rationale:

Fulltime Non-Tenure-Track Faculty (NTTF) members contribute greatly to the achievements of the IUPUI community. Contributions include teaching at all levels, providing services to thousands of patients and clients, and conducting research. Without the productive efforts of these approximately 920 individuals, the IUPUI community would find it very difficult to achieve its mission and goals. However, these individuals lack representation on the IUPUI Faculty Council.

IUPUI and the IFC would benefit from the wisdom and advice obtained from their participation. Governance should be shared among faculty in order to protect the rights and the responsibilities of all of its members. It is incumbent on all faculty members to protect the right to representation of their colleagues in faculty governance processes.

# **Proposed motion:**

Ten at-large representatives from the ranks of the non-tenure track faculty (NTTF) shall be elected to the IUPUI Faculty Council. No more than two representatives should come from the same school.

## **Supportive Information:**

There are currently 929 NTTF in the following academic appointments (C. McGarry, 4/2006): 519 Clinical appointees, 233 Research scientists/professors, 169 Lecturers, 8 Academic specialists

Schools/units having NTTF academic appointments (C. McGarry, 4/2006):

Medicine, Nursing, Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, Education, Social Work, Law, Liberal Arts

There are currently 1327 tenure track academic appointments:

1,321 Professors (Associate, Assistant), 6 Acting Assistant Professors

The TTF have 127 voting positions in IUPUI Faculty Council (M. Martin, 4/2006). The 127 voting positions represent

39 unit representatives, 39 at-large representatives, 4 ex-officio (Faculty IFC Officers), (Parliamentarian--non-voting), 2 ex-officio (Chancellor's designees), 8 ex-officio (IFC Executive Committee members), 13 ex-officio (UFC members), 22 deans or unit heads

The NTTF have 0 representatives. If 10 representatives were added to the voting roster for the IUPUI Faculty Council, they would represent:

10/103 faculty (unit, at-large, IFC officers, IFCEC, and UFC) voting positions (9.7%) 10/137 total voting positions (7.3%)

NTTF Representation Issue

# CONSTITUTION OF THE INDIANA UNIVERSITY FACULTY

## **ARTICLE 1: THE FACULTY**

# **Section 1.1: The Faculty**

The President, professors, and instructors shall constitute the faculty of Indiana University.

# **Section 1.2: Voting Faculty Membership**

- A. All faculty members on tenure or accumulating credit toward tenure shall be voting members of the faculty.
- B. The voting members of the faculty shall exercise the powers of this constitution. The voting members of individual campuses may extend voting privileges to others on matters of individual campus significance.
- C. Faculty members shall vote on the campus of their primary appointment and shall be counted there for purposes of representation.

# **Section 1.3: Certification of the Faculty**

By December 1 and thereafter as appointments by the Trustees occur, the President shall communicate to the Secretary of the Faculty the names, rank, tenure status, full-time or part-time status, and campus of primary appointment of all persons holding academic appointments, as certified by the vice president or chancellor of each campus.

# CONSTITUTION OF THE IUPUI FACULTY

# ARTICLE I. FACULTY MEMBERSHIP

# Section A.

Individuals serving full-time who hold instructor or professorial rank, as well as librarians of comparable rank, and who perform their functions primarily in Indianapolis, or who, having their principal functions elsewhere have rank in an academic unit which is primarily situated at IUPUI, shall be considered voting members of the faculty.

#### Section B.

The Office of Academic and Faculty Records at IUPUI shall be responsible for maintaining a census of the voting faculty. It shall send a certified list of voting faculty as of October 1 to the President of the Faculty, and to the President of each academic unit not later than the middle of October each year.

## Section C.

Anyone wishing to challenge any inclusion or omission from the official list shall first petition the Office of Academic and Faculty Records. If that Office holds against the petitioner, the petitioner may present his or her case to the Faculty Council, which may rule for the petitioner by a 2/3 vote of those present and voting.