Scott Pegg Department of Political Science, CA 503 K 278-5749 or smpegg@iupui.edu

18 May 2004

John McCormick President, SLA Faculty Assembly CA 503 H

Dear John;

As Chairman of the SLA Library Committee for the 2003-2004 academic year, I am pleased to report that our committee faced no major crises or problems. While the situation with the library's funding is not perhaps where anyone would like it to be, there were no dramatic developments over the course of this past academic year.

As such, the SLA Library Committee had a relatively quiet year. Our committee's membership this year comprised Carrie Foote-Ardah, David Ford, Dolores Hoyt, Bill Jackson, Jack McKivigan, Scott Pegg (chairman), Bill Schneider, Susan Sutton and Mel Wininger. Bill Schneider served as ex oficio member from the Dean's office during Fall 2003 while David Ford assumed this role in Spring 2004.

Our committee met four times during the course of the 2003-2004 academic year with two meetings each semester. The specific dates of our meetings were October 7, 2003; November 18, 2003; February 17, 2004; and April 13, 2004.

All of our meetings featured regular updates from Dolores Hoyt, the library representative to the committee about various issues affecting or potentially affecting SLA Departments. In addition, thanks to Dolores's efforts, we were also able to schedule two educational/informational presentations for our members. Karen Janke, one of the Assistant Librarians, informed our committee members about changes to the University Library's Inter-Library Loan policies and showed us how the new system worked. Kristi Palmer, another Assistant Librarian, later shared with us the possibilities for using the IDEA system which is designed to be IUPUI's Institutional Digital Repository.

Once again, our committee had a relatively quiet year with no major crises or problems to deal with. Given the nature of the committee's focus, I think that is something we can all be happy about. If you have any questions or need any additional information, please let me know.

Thanks,

Scott Pegg, Chairman, SLA Library Committee