Notes on SLA elected committees, January 2012

Under the name of each elected committee for which we need nominees, you'll see the following: first, the positions in need of nominees; second, a brief statement of the membership rules; third, the departments represented on the committee through at least May 2013; and fourth, the committee members in years 2010–11 and/or 2011–12.

Agenda Council:

1. We need three new members, specifically, a president of the faculty assembly and two new members-atlarge.

2. The members can be of any rank. No two members can be from the same department. The council should have balanced representation from the humanities and social sciences.

3. Departments represented through at least May 2013: Communication Studies (Gail Whitchurch); Philosophy (Tim Lyons); WLAC/Spanish (Rosa Tezanos-Pinto).

4. Members (aside from the dean) in 2010–11 and/or 2011–12: D. Bivin (2009–11); S. Chakrabarti (2010–12); J. De Wester (2009–11); L. Haas (2010–12); M. Labode (2010–12); T. Lyons (2011–13); R. Tezanos–Pinto (2011–13); G. Whitchurch (2009–13).

Enhancement Review Committee:

No one needed. All of the present members will serve through at least May 2013.

Nominating Committee:

1. We need two new members.

2. The members can be of any rank. No more than two members can be from the same department. The committee should have balanced representation from the humanities and social sciences.

3. Departments represented through at least May 2013: English (Julie Freeman); Philosophy (John Tilley); Sociology (Marci Littlefield).

4. Members in 2010–11 and/or 2011–12: M. Coleman (2009–11); F. Dicamilla (2009–11); J. Freeman (2011– 13); D. Kostroun (2010–12); T. Leech (2009–11); M. Littlefield (2011–13); K. Sheeler (2010–12); J. Tilley (2011–13).

Promotion & Tenure Committee:

1. We need five new members, specifically, four tenured faculty and one senior lecturer.

2. The members should include no full-time administrators. The tenured members should, if possible, be full professors. There should be no more than one tenured member from any given department; likewise, there should be no more than one senior lecturer from any given department. It's OK if one of the senior lecturers is from the same department as one of the tenured members. The committee should have balanced representation from the humanities and social sciences. More generally, "every effort should be made to ensure diversity of representation on this committee" (SLA Bylaws, p. 9).

3. Departments represented through at least May 2013:

- Among the tenured members: History (Phil Scarpino); Religious Studies (Peter Thuesen); WLAC/Spanish (Enrica Ardemagni);
- Among the senior lecturers: Communication Studies (Jennifer Cochrane).

4. Members in 2010–11 and/or 2011–12: E. Ardemagni (2011–13); R. Bein (2010–12); G. Bersier (2009–11); D. Bodenhamer (2009–11); J. Cochrane (2011–13); G. Keller (2009–11); F. Kissel (2010–12); L. Pike (2009–11); O. Nnaemeka (2010–12); P. Rangazas (2010–12); P. Scarpino (2011–13); P. Thuesen (2011–13); T. Upton (2010–12).

SLA Representatives, IUPUI Faculty Council:

1. We need two new representatives.

2. The representatives must be tenured or tenure-track, and no more than two can be from the same department. At least one should be from the humanities; at least one should be from the social sciences.

3. Departments represented through at least May 2013: History (Kevin Robins).

4. Members in 2010–11 and/or 2011–12: E. Curtis (2010–12); K. Robbins (2009–13); N. Robertson (2010–12).